Gladys Swarthout - The Art Of Gladys Swarthout

Gladys Swarthout
The Art Of Gladys Swarthout
Label: RCA Victrola ‎– VIC-1490
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Compilation, Mono
Country: US
Date of released: 1970
Category: Classical
Style: Opera


Bizet Carmen
A1 Act I: Habanera (L'amour Est Un Oiseau Rebelle) 5:05
A2 Act I: Seguidilla And Duet (Pres Des Remparts De Seville) 4:15
Tomas Mignon
A3 Act I: Connais-Tu Le Pays? 5:05
A4 Act II: Je Connais Un Pauvre Enfant (Recitative And Styrienne) 3:40
Gounod Faust
A5 Act III: Faites-Lui Mes Aveux (Siebel's Aria) 3:00
Gounod Romeo And Juliet
A6 Act III: Que Fais-Tu (Stephano's Aria) 4:07
Canteloube Soungs Of The Auvergne (Series I)
A7 Bailero 4:15
Massenet Werther
B1 Act III: Letter Scene (Werther! Qui M'Aurait Dit) 9:05
Saint-Saens Samson And Delilah
B2 Act I: Printemps Qui Commence 4:45
B3 Act II: Amour! Viens Aider Ma Faiblesse 3:57
B4 Act II: Mon Coeur S'ouvre A Ta Voix 5:04
Tchaikovsky Pique Dame
B5 Act I: Pauline's Romance 2:17
Offenbach La Perichole
B6 Act III: Je T'adore, Brigande 3:11


  • Composed By – Thomas* (tracks: A3, A4), Saint-Saens* (tracks: B2, B3, B4), Gounod* (tracks: A5, A6), Bizet* (tracks: A1, A2), Offenbach* (tracks: B6), Canteloube* (tracks: A7), Massenet* (tracks: B1), Tchaikovsky* (tracks: B5)
  • Conductor – Alexander Smallens (tracks: B5), Erich Leinsdorf (tracks: A1, A2), Jean Paul Morel* (tracks: B1, B2, B3, B4, B6)
  • Liner Notes – Francis Robinson
  • Orchestra – RCA Victor Orchestra* (tracks: all except B5)
  • Performer – Gladys Swarthout
  • Piano – Gibner King (tracks: A7)


RCA Victrola release -- pink label.
The orchestra on track B5 is unknown/uncredited.

Recording dates:
A1 - 5/29/46
A2 - 5/22/46
A3 - 2/13/42
A4 - 2/13/42
A5 - 2/13/42
A6 - 2/13/42
A7 - 5/26/49
B1 - 5/26/49
B2 - 1/9/51
B3 - 1/9/51
B4 - 1/9/51
B5 - 4/3/36
B6 - 5/26/49

The conductor for tracks A3, A4, A5, A6 is credited on the back cover as Wilfred Pelletier, but the database says that artist is invalid, so there is no conductor credit above for those tracks.

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
VIC-1490 Gladys Swarthout The Art Of Gladys Swarthout ‎(LP, Album, Comp, Mono) RCA Victrola VIC-1490 Canada 1970